Ambitions first impression

So. Another One OK Rock post, I’m sorry, but I just couLdn’t resist.
If you haven’t heard One OK Rock’s Latest aLbum ‘Ambitions’, go away. Or read on, if you’re curious, or whatever.

Here goes..

Ambitions  >> This may be the most boring intro track by OOR so far

Bombs Away >> Do they reaLLy need this much effects and autotune? Oh yeay Japanese lyrics!

Taking Off >> This is Like RADWIMPS’ Zen Zen Zense. Not a bad song, but too generic to be called OOR’s better song. Other bands with lower quality and level could make this song their good song, but this is definitely not OOR’s better song.

We Are >> I can see why some people said this song “speaks to me in a spiritual level”.  The ‘feels’ reminds me of Clock Strikes, and Nobody’s Home too, but musically it’s still inferior to both. And, NHK 18sai Fes version is still the best.

20/20 >> What was that?

Always Coming Back >> I’ve come to appreciate this song.

Bedroom Warfare >> Livin’ La Vida Loca is giving me a major headache.

Lost In Tonight >> I think this has some potentials, but Taka sounds drunk.

I Was King >> When am I when am I gonna kill this feeling of dread whenever I heard OOR is going to release something new?

Listen >> I’m more interested with the behind-the-scene story of this song. How did Toru react when Avril’s in? 😄

One Way Ticket >> If they pLay this song Live and I happen to be going, I wouLd just stood there awkwardly, not sure what to do.

Bon Voyage >> What the hell is this mess? And who’s singing?

Start Again >> Oh this is quite good. Just Lose the O-o-oh.

Take What You Want >> I reaLLy need to pee.

*toilet break*

Secret Track >> Like the intro, this may be the most boring Secret Track by OOR, BUT this is hands down the best track of the entire aLbum.

So.

Um.

I think what I wrote in 35XXXV first impression post couLd be appLied here, with sLight modification:

Okay, from the generaL popuLation point of view, stoicaLLy speaking, this is a good pop rock aLbum from One OK Rock aLthough they couLd tone down the production and effects. And I think they shouLd beef up the Lyrics. I can see tweens and middLe schooLers digging this, but the band wiLL face stiff competition as there are thousands other western bands thand sound more or Less the same (with stronger Lyrics, I guess).

PersonaLLy speaking, this is NOT a good aLbum from One OK Rock. I hate this.
I might Love this if this had been reLeased 10 years ago.
HonestLy I am quite surprised that I find myseLf preferring 35XXXV than Ambitions. But I just.. I feLt so reLieved when Start Again started (weird sentence) and I finaLLy found a non pre-reLeased song that I Like. I was aLmost bored Listening to the other songs. I’m sad because of that.

WeLL this is onLy the first hearing. Maybe some other songs wiLL grow on me over time. Who knows.

I’m ending this post with a quote from a reviewer on Amazon Japan:

グッドバイワンオクロック。 ハローただのグッドバンド。

 

got anything to say?

